The Benefits of ‘Bounding

Hi Disney lovers,

It’s Monday, and like so many of you, I’m wishing I was back in my favorite place today. Although I’m just getting home from an overnight shift at my TV station (morning news is no joke), I am already working on plans for my next trip in less than two weeks. And as with every trip, one of the first things I’m planning is… my outfit.

If you’ve seen any of my park pics (either on the blog or my Instagram), you’ve probably noticed a common theme: I love to dress up in the parks. I’m not talking about fun t-shirts or a pair of Mickey ears on an otherwise casual ensemble (although there’s nothing wrong with that, and I’m always down to rock some custom ears). I’m talking about the art of casual cosplay that is “Disneybounding.”

For those who are less familiar with the concept, here’s a brief definition. Disneybounding is when you wear everyday clothes (dressy or casual), and put them together in such a way that they resemble Disney characters. It’s a way of paying homage to your favorite characters, without looking like you stepped out of the costume store (and straight into Disney security…because that doesn’t fly for anyone over the age of 13 or 14). It’s a fun and adventurous way to show your Disney side, and yet, outside of the Instagram Disneybound community, I don’t see it nearly as often in person.

And I think it all stems from one main reason: People just don’t know the true benefits of ‘Bounding. So as someone who Disneybounds almost every trip, I’d like to break down for you the top reasons why you should give it a whirl (twirly skirts optional).

 

snow-white
Have fun dressing up, but just don’t take any apples from people you don’t know, ok?

 

  1. Full immersion in the Disney experience: Why does anyone go to Disney in the first place? For most of us, it’s an escape to a place that’s warm, happy, inviting and truly magical (and that’s not even counting the food!). What better way to make yourself fully part of the Disney landscape than by channeling your inner Snow White near the Mine Train, or grabbing a smackerel to eat dressed in red and yellow like Winnie the Pooh!
  2. Family fun: Whether you go with your significant other, your kids, or your friends, Disneybounding can be a group project as well. At first my boyfriend was a little wary, but after a few couples’ outfits, he’s hooked too. Got a whole family taking a trip? Why not pick a favorite Disney flick and have everyone dress as their own character! It makes preparing and packing for the trip all the more fun, and leads me to my next reason…
  3. Better park pictures: Whether it’s just you dressed up, or your whole squad, you’re always bound to get more unique pictures in the parks. Personally, I like to pick characters that have specific areas of parks dedicated to them (Ariel at her grotto, Nightmare Before Christmas characters at the Haunted Mansion) and go for a photoshoot there. Disney is already the perfect backdrop for photos, but dressing up can really make you look like you belong in a storybook.

 

ariel
An Ariel-inspired look plus this amazing backdrop…they mermaid for each other! (Get it?)

 

4. Better Castmember/character interactions: If you dress the part, be prepared for Disney Castmembers to take notice the second you walk through the gates. I’ve had some great CM interactions through Disneybounding (from fun conversations, to having a special song performed for me outside Harbor House). My boyfriend and I were even pulled out of a line once and given Fastpasses for two rides, just because we were dressed as Roger Rabbit and Eddie Valiant. And if you’re hoping to meet a certain character, Disneybounding will do nothing but enhance your meet and greet. I can’t count how many times characters have spent more time interacting with me just because I was dressed like them, and you can tell it makes their day a little more magical too.

5. Standing out in the crowd: How many thousands of people flock to the House of Mouse every day? Enough that it’s easy to blend right in. But if that’s not your thing (*casually raises hand*), then Disneybounding is, in my opinion, the best way to stand out. Seeing other guests smile or come up and start a conversation because of an outfit always brightens my day. It’s the perfect way to meet like-minded Disney lovers, and isn’t that what it’s all about?

 

So there you have it, the top benefits of ‘Bounding, according to Jiminy Jenny. If you’d like to check out more of my outfits and inspirations for ‘Bounds, check out my IG, @the.jiminy.jenny, and lookout for future posts, where I break down my Disneybounding basics and how I pull together certain looks.

TTFN, Ta-ta for now!

Jiminy Jenny

One thought on “The Benefits of ‘Bounding

Leave a Reply

