Disneybound Breakdown: Maleficent

Hello Disney lovers,

Let’s face it, sometimes it just feels good to be bad.

Most of my park outfits are based on good-hearted, heroic or even just silly characters in the Disney universe, but every now and then I like to step out in my most villainous threads. Enter this magnificent Maleficent Disneybound.

 

maleficent 5
Once upon a time, there was Maleficent, and she was fab. End of story.

 

The dress: The dress was the biggest piece of this Disneybound, and possibly the most dramatic. Maleficent doesn’t know anything about love, or kindness, or the joy of helping others, but she does know a thing or two about a fabulous LBD. I chose this black dress (from Amazon) specifically for the built-in cape feature. Edna Mode may not love it (no capes!), but I thought it perfectly captured the look and movement of Maleficent’s flowy cape in the animated movie. The lightweight fabric was easy to work with while posing for pictures, and made all the princesses slip into a trance when it blew behind me in the Florida breeze. At $45, it didn’t break the bank, and it’s a dress I’d be happy to wear in my non-Disney life.

 

maleficent 3
This cape is perfect for pointing you in the direction of that suspiciously sharp spindle!

 

The horns: She might not have her wings any more, but no Maleficent Disneybound would be complete without her signature horns. The idea for this outfit actually came from an amazing pair of metalwork horns I found at Hot Topic. They went on sale last year just after Halloween, so I just had to scoop them up and save them for a rainy day (and it literally did rain that evening at Hollywood Studios). Hot Topic still has these metal ones listed online, but you can also find horns more reminiscent of the live-action film online, as well as Mal-inspired hair bows and other headbands. Be warned, the metal headband does pinch after a couple hours, but when you’re busy morphing into a dragon to fight off a prince, you’ll barely notice.

 

maleficent 7
Try not to prick your finger on these bad boys.

 

The belt: For this ensemble, I needed a belt that was just as dramatic as the dress, but one that wouldn’t outshine it. I found this great corset-style belt on Amazon, and it really did the trick. The faux leather material gave off all the stylish bad girl vibes I was looking for, and it only cost about $10, which was a huge bonus.

Other accessories: I kept the rest of this look very minimalistic, to avoid competing with the rest of the outfit. I wanted to incorporate some green, so I put on a pair of emerald-colored drop earrings I already had at home. I also wanted some purple added to my sea of black fabric, and my lavender folded clutch was just the ticket. For the shoes, I threw on a pair of pointy black lace-up flats bought from Nine West. I normally wouldn’t recommend wearing shoes that tie up around your ankle for comfort’s sake, but I wanted a streamlined look that sneakers couldn’t give me, and I wasn’t walking around for too long in the park.

 

maleficent
All these princesses are making *me* tired.

 

Hair and makeup: Every so often, my magenta-colored hair blends in seamlessly with a Disneybound. I got a fresh dye job a couple weeks before this trip, making it nice and bright for pictures. I almost always opt for winged eyeliner in the parks, so naturally I kept my wicked wings to channel my favorite fallen fairy. I also skipped the usual red or pink lips for a bright purple hue from Nyx Cosmetics.

So there you have it, a bold Maleficent look worthy of front-row seats to see Fantasmic. Just try not to stir up too much trouble while rocking this look!

 

maleficent 6
Just look at is this way…If I make you sleep for years on end, you can have plenty of Disney dreams. You’re welcome.

 

You can always find more of my Disneybound looks and inspiration on my Instagram, and be sure to look out for future Disneybound breakdowns right here!

See you once upon a dream,

Jiminy Jenny

 

 

Leave a comment